Virginia Cardinal Award

The Virginia Cardinal Award is VASBO's premier recognition given to one of its members each year for exemplifying professionalism, leadership, and innovation in the field of school business management. The award winner is announced at the Spring VASBO conference. The winner also attends the Southeast Association of School Business Officials (SASBO) the following year and is recognized as the Outstanding School Business Official for the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nominations are accepted year round but close on March 1st for the current award year. If you know a member of VASBO (even those on the current Board) who has made a significant impact in local and state school business finance, please complete the Cardinal Award Nomination Form by March 8, 2021.

As we have every year since 2009, VASBO members nominate some of their outstanding peers for recognition. The 12th Cardinal Award winner is Marcia Stevens, Chief Operations Officer for Caroline County Public Schools. Having previously served Spotsylvania County Public Schools as the Director of Budget & Payroll Mrs. Stevens has been involved in school finance since 2005. Mrs. Stevens career includes time in the private sector as an Accounting Services Representative, Senior Auditor, and Controller. She transitioned to work in the public sector and later to school business where she has continued to excel. Mrs. Stevens has been a member of VASBO since 2005 and currently serves as the Membership Committee Chair. According to her Superintendent, "Mrs. Steven’s has crafted strong fiscal policy and practices which have been readily embraced by staff, praised by the School Board, and emulated and admired by county government. Additionally, she has instituted professional learning throughout the “operation’s house” to enhance usage and effectiveness of current technologies, while simultaneously investigating and implementing new mechanisms for greater efficiency - Employee Self-Service System, Asset Management Program, Energy Performance Plans, etc." 

Mrs. Stevens, congratulations on being the 2020 Cardinal Award Winner!


Marcia Stevens

2020 Cardinal Award Recipient  

 Cardinal Award Winners

2009 Edith Williams - Richmond County
2010 James Meyer - Spotsylvania County
2011 David Cline - Prince William County
2012 William Flaherty - Spotsylvania County
2013 Dennis Jarrett - York County
2014 Penny Hodge - Roanoke County
2015 Lisa Frye - Frederick County
2016 Joanne Wright - King and Queen County
2017 Tina Cropp - Madison County
2018  Bill Bowen - York County
2019 Krista Kelly - Manassas Park City Schools
2020 Marcia Stevens - Caroline County